It’s Freezing Outside!

Well, its finally happened.  The temperature outside is way below the expected normal for this time of year in the great northeast and we have been having snow flurries on and off the last couple of days.  I can’t say that it doesn’t look really pretty outside – but today – its really cold!  I was thinking of walking my dog, Sally, and he keeps looking at me and I keep thinking, it’s really cold out there.  I just don’t think it’s going to happen today.  I don’t think he wants to go for a walk either!

100_0650

(But isn’t he cute?!)

Anyway, we are in the middle of the Holiday season, so get those gift lists going and let me know if you would like to put in a quick order for a pretty scarf or a warm winter hat for Grandma or Uncle Ted.

I don’t know about other knitters, but right now I have three different projects going on; I am working on the long wristers I was telling you about.

100_0641

I decided to make them a little shorter, instead of a total of 18″, I stopped at 14″, this way I can bunch them up around my wrist and really keep the cold out.  Maybe I just have short arms? Either way, this worked the best for me.  That’s how you should think of all projects; you don’t have to work them completely as the directions dictate – be creative, make them more personal, do what works for you!

I’m also knitting on a baby hat with ear flaps for a handsome little guy I know.

100_0649

I am working it in a rich brown from Berroco Vintage Yarns.  I can’t wait to see it completed.  The yarn is from Peru and is a machine washable blend of wool, nylon, and acrylic.

The third project is a sweater I am actually knitting for myself.  It is an interesting pattern; you start at one cuff and work all the way to the other cuff.  This means that there is minimal finishing.  It should be interesting and I hope to finish it for next winter!  This is what it looks like from the magazine.  What do you think?

IMG_5467

Finally, I am going to introduce, “Friday Finds”.  This will be a section that I have wanted to develop for a long time.  It will feature anything from new techniques in knitting to a really neat bag to put you traveling project in.  Stay tuned and let me know if you have any ideas about what you would like to see.

Keep warm,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

