Cold, Cold, Cold!

With all the January weather we are having, snow and cold, I have been continuing my new interest in wet felting.  Best friend and I were once again at The Arts Center and learning and expressing ourselves.  In some ways it is very different that knitting when you are following a specific pattern and the creativity has already been decided for you.  In wet felting, you are free to experiment with colors and textures and really “play” along the way.  I started this piece last night and I really had a hard time “playing”.  I kept asking myself, “what is it going to be?”.  Jeannie, our artisan, suggested that I just let it happen and to visually work with what I build and like.  So, this is not a finished piece, it still needs to be worked on more to let the felt grab into the cotton fabric, but it is a good beginning for me to have fun!

FullSizeRender-76

 

Now, I did want to share with you a different type of felting.  I  knitted a piece and then washed it so that it became felted.  This is a fun project as well, it incorporates the knitting (my first love) with fusing those fibers to create a finished felted product.  Here is a bag called, Knitter’s Big Bag, that I made, starting with just eight stitches and knitting with double pointed needles.  The pattern is from Long Meadow Designs and unfortunately, I couldn’t find the exact pattern, (it’s been a few years!) but there are many different and fun styles to try!

 

FullSizeRender-77

 

It’s really enjoyable and relaxing to create and just work with your hands and let the world continue on!

 

Happy creating,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

